Fines for DUI Arrests

Fines for DUI Arrests in Arizona
Drunk driving penalties need to be taken very seriously. Jail time, license suspension, fines, and other setbacks will have a marked affect on your life and even your livelihood. It's important that you speak with skilled DUI attorneys following a drunk driving arrest. By doing this, you can fight to have penalties reduced and possibly even have your case reconsidered if the arresting officer violated your rights.

At this time, we would like to look at various fines that are associated with drunk driving arrests and what those will mean for you.

Are fines common with drunk driving arrests?

Yes. Fines are a mandatory part of any drunk driving conviction, whether it's a first offense or third offense. Below we have looked at the fines associated with drunk driving arrests so you understand what is at stake.

Fines Associated with a First Offense DUI

The following fines are associated with first offense DUIs:

  • $250 – Base fine for DUI arrest
  • $200 – Arizona DUI surcharge
  • $10 – Surcharge for probation
  • $500 – Prison construction assessment
  • $500 – Arizona Xtra DUI assessment

Fines Associated with a Second Offense DUI

A second DUI offense is any drunk driving arrest that occurs within 7 years of the previous arrest. Penalties are more severe for second offenses as seen below:

  • $500 – Base fine for DUI arrest
  • $400 – Arizona DUI surcharge
  • $10 – Surcharge for probation
  • $1,250 – Prison construction assessment
  • $1,250 – Arizona Xtra DUI assessment

Fines Associated with a Third Offense DUI

Third offense DUI refers to a third drunk driving arrest in a 7-year period. As with the second offense DUI, the penalties for a third offense are much more serious:

  • $750 – Base fine for DUI arrest
  • $600 – Arizona DUI surcharge
  • $10 – Surcharge for probation
  • $1,500 – Prison construction assessment
  • $1,500 – Arizona Xtra DUI assessment
  • $250 – DUI abatement fee

A Word on Extreme DUI Arrests and Convictions

Extreme DUI convictions refer to arrests in which a person has a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or greater. The penalties for extreme DUI arrests are more serious simply given the amount of alcohol in the person's system.

With regard to fines, first-time extreme DUI convictions include a base fine of $250 plus a surcharge; a second-time extreme DUI conviction (within 5 years of the first) will involve a $500 fine plus a surcharge.

How Our Attorneys Can Help You

By speaking with our DUI defense attorneys, you will be able to receive strong counsel with regard to all of your legal options. We will make sure that you receive a fair shake from the law and will assist you with any questions that you make have about the process from beginning to the end. We are here for you when you need us most.

Learn More About DUI Defense Options

For more information about your DUI defense options and how our legal team can help you, be sure to contact our Tempe, AZ DUI defense attorneys today. The entire team here looks forward to meeting you in person and helping you make the best possible decisions in your time of legal need.

Contact Information