DUIs and Jail Time

Arizona DUI and Jail Time
In the state of Arizona, DUI and jail time go hand in hand. The state’s DUI penalties are among the toughest in the nation, and you can bet that if you are convicted of a DUI, you will spend at least 24 hours in jail. That’s one of the reasons why those who are arrested for DUI are encouraged to secure the services of experienced DUI attorneys, such as James E. Novak. With skilled representation, you stand a chance of avoiding serious penalties such as jail time. Without that representation, you will almost certainly find yourself behind bars, at least for a day.

Potential Jail Sentences for DUI Offenses

If you are convicted of a DUI offense, the amount of time you spend in jail will depend on the circumstances of your case, your blood alcohol content (BAC) level, and your history (if any) of DUI convictions. Again, please understand that if you are convicted, there is no way for you to avoid jail time. You will spend time in jail, period.

The following are the jail sentences associated with DUI convictions:

  • First non-extreme DUI (BAC between .08 and .14): A minimum of one day (24 hours) in jail; however, courts have the discretion to sentence even first-time, non-extreme DUI offenders to up to 10 days in jail
  • Second non-extreme DUI (BAC between .08 and .14): A minimum of 30 days in jail; however, courts have the discretion to sentence second-time offenders to up to 90 days in jail
  • First extreme DUI (BAC between .15 and .19): 30 days in jail
  • Second extreme DUI (BAC between .15 and .19): 120 days in jail
  • First super extreme DUI (BAC of .20 or higher): 45 days in jail
  • Second super extreme DUI (BAC of .20 or higher): 180 days in jail

As you can probably imagine, penalties become even harsher for those who have repeat DUI offenses beyond those listed above. If you are convicted of any type of DUI for a third time within seven years, the offense will be considered a Class 4 felony and carry with it a minimum sentence of four months in prison, with a maximum of three years and nine months. It is also considered a Class 4 felony if you are convicted of DUI while your driving privileges have been suspended or revoked.

If you are convicted of a DUI of any sort while transporting a child under the age of 15, the offense will be considered a Class 6 felony, with jail sentences of:

  • Non-extreme DUI (BAC between .08 and .14): minimum of 10 days in jail
  • Extreme DUI (BAC between .15 and .19): minimum of 30 days in jail
  • Super extreme DUI (BAC of .20 or higher): minimum of 45 days in jail

The difference between significant time in jail and freedom could be a solid, compelling DUI defense, of the sort that James E. Novak routinely provides to his clients.

Contact DUI Defense Attorney James E. Novak

To arrange for an evaluation of your DUI case, please contact the Law Office of James E. Novak today.

Contact Information