DUI in any state is a dangerous offense to both you and the motor vehicles around you. Following an arrest, it's important that you seek out a skilled DUI defense attorney and legal defense team. We at The Law Office of James Novak have helped countless people around the Phoenix area with their cases, reducing penalties and ensuring that they receive a fair trial.
Many clients who come to us have questions about the cost of a DUI offense. We'd like to look at some of the fines and monetary penalties that are attached to a drunk driving arrest.
The Fines for DUI Arrests in the State of Arizona
DUI fines in the state of Arizona vary based on the number of offenses currently on your record. However, in the state of Arizona, even a first offense comes with a $1,250 fine and potentially 10 days in jail. Additionally, for a first offense, you may also face mandatory alcohol and drug education, an ignition interlock for every one of your vehicles, and/or community service. Any costs will be shouldered by the person charged with DUI.
For a standard second offense, the DUI fines in Arizona would increase to $3,000 and a mandatory 90 days in jail.
Extreme DUI in the State of Arizona
In the state of Arizona, DUI offenses can also be tiered based on severity. A more severe DUI offense is referred to as an Extreme DUI.
An Extreme DUI is determined based on your blood alcohol content (BAC). For a DUI to be considered extreme, your BAC would have to be 0.15% or higher.
For your first Extreme DUI in the state of Arizona, you would be facing a fine of $2,500 (or more, depending on the severity) and 30 days in jail. For your second infraction, you would face a fine of $3,250 and a minimum of 120 days in jail.
In addition to all of these fines and penalties, you would also be subject to mandatory alcohol and drug education, an ignition interlock for every one of your vehicles, and/or community service.
Aggravated DUI in the State of Arizona
The most severe form of DUI in the state of Arizona is referred to as Aggravated DUI.
To be considered an Aggravated DUI, the driver would be operating his or her motor vehicle with a driver's license that has been suspended, revoked, or canceled. Additionally, after your third DUI offense (either Extreme or Standard), you immediately become subject to the penalties associated with an Aggravated DUI. Additionally, if you commit DUI in the state of Arizona with a passenger that is 15 years old or younger, you immediately become subject to the penalties associated with Aggravated DUI.
For a first offense of an Aggravated DUI, you will likely be sent to prison for 2 years. Additionally, your driver’s license will be revoked for at least 3 years (if it hasn't been revoked prior to your Aggravated DUI). As you would face with either an Extreme or Standard DUI, you would also face mandatory alcohol and drug education, an ignition interlock for every one of your vehicles, and/or community service.
A Criminal Defense Attorney Is Crucial
Given the costs involved and the other penalties associated with the DUI charge, it's important that you have a skilled attorney on your side. We will work to ensure that you receive a fair hearing and that penalties, fines, and other matters are considered carefully, fairly, and with due diligence.
Speak with Our Drunk Driving Defense Legal Team Today
If you or someone that you love has been arrested for drunk driving, be sure to contact our DUI and criminal defense attorneys today. We are here to make sure the system works by providing you with a vigorous legal defense.