The Escalating Punishments for Repeat Arizona DUI Offenses

Drunk driving is taken seriously by police and prosecutors across the country. That said, out of all fifty states, Arizona DUI laws are among the strictest. However, the punishments for DUI crimes are not always easy to understand. At the same time, it is only when someone truly understands what they could be facing that they can make a fully-informed decision on how to handle their case.

In Arizona, not all DUI offenses are created equal.

  • DUI – A DUI offense is the most basic version of an Arizona drunk driving crime. Someone can be found guilty of a DUI if they are driving a car with a blood-alcohol content between .08 and .14.
  • Extreme DUI – Someone can be found guilty of an Extreme DUI If they operating a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol content of .15 or more.
  • Aggravated DUI – An aggravated DUI results when someone is driving under the influence (with a blood-alcohol content of .08 or more) under one of the following circumstances:
    1. Driving on a suspended or revoked license;
    2. Having committed two prior DUIs in the past seven years;
    3. Driving with a passenger under the age of 15 years old; or
    4. Refusing to submit to a breath sample (for those ordered to have an ignition interlock on their vehicle).

So, even a driver who is arrested for a DUI for the first time may face any of these charges. Like most other states, Arizona law provides for escalating punishments for those who are convicted of repeat DUI offenses.

For example, a first time Arizona DUI offense can result in the following punishments:

  • Up to 10 days in jail
  • Up to a $1,250 fine
  • Participation in alcohol treatment and education
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory community service

A second-offense DUI in Arizona carries stricter penalties, including:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to a $3,000 fine
  • 12-month driver’s license revocation
  • Participation in alcohol treatment and education
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory community service

For an Arizona Extreme DUI, the penalty goes from up to 30 days in jail with a $2,500 fine for a first offense, to 120 days in jail, a $3,250 fine, and the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for a second offense.

In some cases, a third-time DUI or extreme DUI offense will constitute an aggravated DUI. However, as mentioned above, even a first-time offense may result in an aggravated DUI charge. Aggravated DUIs are punishable by up to two years in jail and a three-year license suspension.

Have You Been Arrested for an Arizona DUI Offense?

If you have recently been arrested for an Arizona drunk driving crime, contact Attorney James E. Novak for immediate assistance. Attorney Novak is a veteran DUI defense attorney, with years of experience handling even the most complex and challenging Arizona DUI cases. With his assistance, you can rest assured that you are in good hands at every step in the process. Attorney Novak represents clients facing all types of DUI offenses, including first-time DUIs and aggravated DUIs. To learn more, and to schedule a free consultation today, call 480-413-1499 today.

Contact Information