What You Need to Know about Arizona DUI Penalties

DUI penalties in Arizona are especially harsh, including costly fines, jail time, loss of driving privileges, and more. If you are arrested under suspicion of misdemeanor or aggravated (felony) DUI, fighting the charges is usually the best thing to do. Attorney James E. Novak specializes in criminal defense law, and has devoted many years to helping Phoenix-area drivers beat DUI charges – or greatly minimize the DUI penalties. Contact our Phoenix practice if you need expert legal counsel for DUI.

Arizona DUI Penalty Chart

The chart below details the penalties levied for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs, including “Extreme DUI,” “Super Extreme DUI” and “Aggravated DUI.”

  DRIVER’S LICENSE MINIMUM FINES AND FEES* JAIL TIME** COMMUNITY SERVICE PROBATION
DUI -  BAC .08  
(1st Offense) 
90 Day to 1 Year Suspension $1,490 1-10 Days Possible

Up to 5 Years

DUI - BAC .08  
(2nd Offense)
1 Year Revocation $3,448 30-90 Days 30 Hours

Up to 5 Years

Extreme DUI 
BAC .15-.19 
(1st Offense)
 
90 Day to 1 Year Suspension $2,740 30 Days Possible Up to 5 Years
Extreme DUI 
BAC .15-.19 
(2nd Offense)
 
1 Year Revocation $3,698 120 Days 30 Hours Up to 5 Years
Super Extreme DUI
BAC .20+ 
(1st Offense)
 
90 Day to 1 Year Suspension $3,198 45 Days Possible Up to 5 Years
Super Extreme DUI
BAC .20+ 
(2nd Offense)
 
1 Year Revocation $4,613 180 Days 30 Hours Up to 5 Years
Aggravated
 (Felony) DUI
 
3 Year Revocation $4,655 4 Months N/A Up to 10 Years
Aggravated 
(Felony) DUI -
Child Under 15 in Car
 
3 Year Revocation $4,655
1st -1-10 Days
2nd – 30-90 Days
3rd - 4 Months
 
N/A Up to 10 Years
Aggravated (Felony)
Extreme DUI - Child Under 15 in Car
3 Year Revocation $4,655
1st -10-30 Days
2nd  60-120 Days
3rd - 4 Months
 
N/A Up to 10 Years

* Includes base fine with 83% surcharge, various assessments and DUI Abatement Fee, if applicable.

** Judge may suspend some of basic DUI sentence in exchange for participating in alcohol screening/treatment program. Use of certified ignition interlock device for one year may result in suspension of all but 9 days of sentence for first offense Extreme DUI or all but 14 days of sentence for Super Extreme DUI.

Other Consequences

In addition to the above penalties, convicted DUI offenders can expect to participate in mandated drug and alcohol screening and treatment programs. Upon reinstatement of the driver’s license, a certified ignition interlock device will need to be installed in any vehicle driven for a period of one year, with installation and removal at the driver's expense.

If incarcerated, you will be asked to pay restitution for each day you are a guest of the state. If you are arrested on charges of "Arizona Extreme" or aggravated DUI, the police will often exercise their option to impound your vehicle for 30 days. An aggravated DUI is a felony conviction, which leaves you with a permanent criminal record.

Contact Us

If you are arrested for DUI, the time to call James Novak is right away. A 90-day MVD driver’s license suspension is automatic with DUI arrest, but James Novak can help you postpone and perhaps avoid this altogether. Contact the law offices of James Novak to protect your rights and reputation.

Free Consultation
We are Ready to
Answer Your Questions!

Email Us

* Denotes required field
To: The Law Office of James Novak

From (email)*:



Dear The Law Office of James Novak,
Hello, my name* is . I am interested in a free consultation and speaking directly with an experienced attorney about my matter and defense options. I was charged with  .
Please call me at* at your earliest convenience.

Expand to Personalize Your Message